

Delaware County Commissioners

Jeff Benton Barb Lewis Gary Merrell

County AdministratorFerzan Ahmed

Clerk to the Commissioners Jennifer Walraven

For Immediate Release April 12, 2016 Contact: Jane Hawes 740-833-2109

DELAWARE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS SEEK APPOINTMENT OF ONE MEMBER AND ONE ALTERNATE TO THE DELAWARE COUNTY RURAL ZONING COMMISSION

The Delaware County Board of Commissioners is currently seeking to appoint one member to fill an unexpired term and one alternate member to the Rural Zoning Commission. This Commission consists of five (5) members who serve a five (5) year term and the two alternates also serving five (5) year terms. The Rural Zoning Commission forms a cohesive, diversified group. Members shall be residents of the unincorporated area of the county included in the zoned area (Marlboro, Radnor and Thompson Townships). The term for the member will expire on Dec. 31, 2020, and the alternate term will expire on Dec. 31, 2019.

As a Rural Zoning Commission member, your contribution is vital to the development and future endeavors of Delaware County. This Commission works in conjunction with the zoning inspector and other local agents to ensure that policies and practices are being adhered to and enforced. Specific responsibilities of the Rural Zoning Commission are:

- Preparation of the zoning resolution, both text and map(s);
- Initiation of amendments to zoning text and map(s);
- Make formal recommendations on all amendments.

Interested individuals can obtain an Appointment Application through the Delaware County Commissioners Office by:

- Picking up an Appointment Application at 101 N. Sandusky St., Delaware, Ohio 43015;
- Calling the Delaware County Commissioners Office at 740-833-2300 to have an Appointment Application sent directly to you;
- Printing a Board Appointment Application off of the Delaware County website at http://www.co.delaware.oh.us/hr/board/board.asp and mailing it back to the address listed above.

Board Appointment Applications must be returned to the Delaware County Commissioners Office no later than 4:30 p.m. on April 26, 2016.