Legal Division:

Delaware County Courthouse
110 North Sandusky Street
300 Level
(enter on Union Street)
Delaware, Ohio  43015
Phone: (740) 833-2500
Fax: (740) 833-2499

Open:  Monday – Friday
8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

 

Map of 110 N Sandusky St Delaware, OH 43015-1703
     
Title Division

Main Title Office
Frank B. Willis Government Building
2079 U.S. Route 23 North, Suite #1
Delaware, Ohio  43015
Phone: (740) 833-2490
Fax: (740) 833-2498

Open:  Monday – Friday
8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Saturday
8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m

 

 

Satellite Title Office
NorthPointe Shopping Center     
8647 Columbus Pike
Lewis Center, Ohio  43035
Phone: (740) 657-3945    
Fax: (740) 657-3927

Open:  Monday – Friday
8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Closed Saturday.

Map of 2079 US Rt 23 N Delaware, OH 43015-1536

 

 

 

 

 

Map of 8647 Columbus PikeLewis Center, OH 43035-9616

 

Criminal Division

Domestic Relations

Fifth District Court of Appeals

 

 

CRIMINAL FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

How can I find out if someone has prior felony convictions or any current warrants for arrest?

We provide a research area with public terminals, microfiche for older cases and copiers for your convenience.  We will gladly assist you here in the office or you can click on “Public Records Search” on our home page to do your own on-line search.

 

When can I come to the Clerk’s office to pick up bond money when my case is over?

After we receive the final approval from the Court, bond money is refunded by mail.  If you wish to pick it up in person, you will be required to show proper photo identification.


DOMESTIC RELATIONS FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

            Do I need an attorney to file for Divorce or Dissolution or to reactivate my case?

No.  However, the Clerk of Courts office cannot and will not offer legal advice and does not have any pre-printed forms other than those offered on our website.

 

            What is the procedure for filing for a Divorce or Dissolution?

            The Clerk’s office recommends that you seek legal counsel before starting the Divorce or  

            Dissolution process. You can contact the Delaware County Bar Association at 740-363-1369

or Legal Aid at 1-888-301-2411.  These organizations can refer you to an attorney that practices Domestic Relations law.  If you choose to represent yourself, some legal research will be necessary.  The Court is strict about proper forms, formats and requirements needed for this procedure.  Below is a list of documents and fee requirements of the Domestic Relations Division for Divorce and Dissolution cases, with or without children. 

           

                        DIVORCE WITH NO CHILDREN

  1. Classification Form
  2. Complaint
  3. Request or Instructions for Service
  4. Filing Fee of $385.00 (this is a deposit)
  5. Motion and Affidavit for Temporary Orders (without oral hearing)
  6. Affidavits as to Property, Income and Expenses
  7. Party Supplemental Information
  8. Mutual Restraining Orders
  9. Final Judgment for Divorce without Children (Decree of Divorce)

 

DIVORCE WITH CHILDREN

  1. Classification Form
  2. Complaint
  3. Request or Instructions for Service
  4. Filing Fee of $485.00 (this is a deposit)
  5. Motion and Affidavit for Temporary Orders (without oral hearing)
  6. Parenting Proceeding Affidavit
  7. Health Insurance Affidavit
  8. Application for Child Support Services Non-Public Assistance Application
  9. Parenting Plan or Shared Parenting Plan
  10. Child Support Calculation Worksheet
  11. Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law for Child Support deviation
  12. Affidavits as to Property, Income and Expenses
  13. Mutual Restraining Orders
  14. Party Supplemental Information
  15. Parenting Supplemental Information
  16. Parenting Classes
  17. Final Judgment for Divorce with Children (Decree of Divorce)
  18. Parenting Judgment Entry (Parenting Decree)

 

DISSOLUTION WITH NO CHILDREN

  1. Classification Form
  2. Petition for Dissolution
  3. Waiver of Service
  4. Filing Fee of $355.00 (this is a deposit)
  5. Separation Agreement
  6. Affidavits as to property, income and expenses
  7. Party Supplemental Information
  8. Judgment Entry of Dissolution of Marriage (Dissolution Decree)

 

DISSOLUTION WITH CHILDREN

  1. Classification Form
  2. Petition for Dissolution
  3. Waiver of Service
  4. Filing Fee of $455.00
  5. Separation Agreement
  6. Parenting Proceeding Affidavit
  7. Health Insurance Affidavit
  8. Application for Child Support Services Non-public Assistance
  9. Parenting Plan or Shared Parenting Plan
  10. Child Support Calculation Worksheet
  11. Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law for Child Support Deviation
  12. Affidavits as to property, income and expenses
  13. Party Supplemental Information
  14. Parenting Supplemental Information
  15. Parenting Classes
  16. Judgment Entry of Dissolution of Marriage (Dissolution Decree)
  17. Parenting Judgment Entry (Parenting Decree)

 

Parties must attend a parenting seminar before the final hearing or the Court may not grant the Divorce or Dissolution.  Please call the OSU Extension Office at (740) 833-2030 to schedule your class or for more information.

 

Will my Magistrate’s or Judge’s Order be signed the same day?

No.  We process the filings and forward the file to the appropriate Judge or Magistrate.  The Assignment Officer will schedule a hearing and obtain the necessary signature on the Order.  A copy of the Judge’s or Magistrate’s Order will be mailed to the appropriate party by regular U.S. Mail. 

 

How can I get a continuance in my case? 

Forms are available on our home page on the “Forms” link.  If the Magistrate or Judge determines that a continuance is appropriate and if it is granted, a new date will be scheduled and you will be notified by regular U.S. Mail. 

 

How can I obtain a copy of my Divorce or Dissolution Decree?

If the divorce or dissolution was granted in Delaware County, you can visit the Clerk of Courts office at the address on our home page.  If this is not convenient, the request may be made in writing.  Please be specific and make certain to include the parties’ first and last names at the time of the marriage, the year the case was filed and the case number, if available.  Mail your request to Delaware County Clerk of Courts, 91 North Sandusky Street 1st Floor, Delaware, Ohio 43015. The cost for the copies is $0.10/page and $2.00 per certification.   Please include a check payable to the Clerk of Courts and an addressed, stamped return envelope.  If you are uncertain of the total cost, please give us a call and we will be happy to assist you.

 

How can I file for a Civil Protection Order?

A Civil Protection Order can be filed in cases of domestic violence if the parties live together or have lived together in the same household.  These Court Orders can be made effective for up to 5 years.  Victim Services, a division of the Delaware County Prosecutor’s Office, can answer any questions and guide you through the process.  Delaware County Victim Services can be reached at (740)833-2710.

 

How can I file a relocation or change of address notice?

It is important that you notify the Court or Clerk’s office when you have a change of address.  Your notice of change of address or relocation must be made in writing.  For your convenience, there is an “Address Change” form available for you on the “Forms” link on our home page.  This form must be completed and mailed to The Clerk of Courts Domestic Relations Division, 91 North Sandusky Street 1st Floor, Delaware, Ohio 43015.  This notice will be placed with your case file.  If applicable, a copy of your notice will be forwarded to the Child Support Enforcement Agency and to the other party. 

 

What is a Notice of Final Appealable Order?

A notice of Final Appealable Order is a decision rendered by the Judge or Magistrate that is appealable, or reversible.  Some of these decisions may include child support decisions, child custody issues, visitation, etc.  Parties have 30 days to file an appeal with the Court of Appeals on a decision that is rendered by a Judge.  If a Magistrate rendered the decision, parties have 14 days to file an appeal with the Supervising Judge.  If you do not wish to appeal the decision, simply disregard the notice. 

 

How can I file a Post-Decree Motion?

The forms that we are able to provide are available on our home page under “Forms.”  You may contact Legal Aid at 1-888-301-2411.  You may also contact the local Law Library at (740) 833-2545.



FIFTH DISTRICT COURT OF APPEALS FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
 

            How long after the Common pleas Court renders a Judgment can I file an Appeal?

            You can file a Notice of Appeal within 30 days of the time-stamped date on the Judgment. 

 

            How much does it cost to file a Notice of Appeal or Mandamus?

            The charge to file a Notice of Appeal/Mandamus is $125.00.

 

            Should I file a Precipe to get the record transmitted to the Court of Appeals?

            Yes, to the Court Reporter for transmittal of the original transcripts and exhibits. 

 

Will the Clerk of Courts send a notice to all counsel and pro se parties that an Appeal / Mandamus has been filed?

Yes.  The Clerk of Courts will send the Notice but any subsequent pleadings to be serviced are the parties’ responsibility. 

 

How many copies of the Notice of Appeal do I need to file?

Seven (7) full sets of copies are needed. 

 

How long after the Court of Appeals renders a Judgment can I appeal to The Supreme Court?

You have 45 days to file your notice of appeal to the Ohio Supreme Court.   

Passport Information

 

The Delaware County Clerk of Courts is authorized by the U.S. Department of State to accept passport applications at these two locations: 

Clerk of Courts Legal Division

110 North Sandusky Street, Level 300

Delaware, Ohio  43015       

Mon-Fri 8:00 am - 4:00 pm

Clerk of Courts Title Division

8647 Columbus Pike

Lewis Center, Ohio  43035

Mon-Fri 8:00 am – 3:30 pm

 

In order to leave or enter the United States and to enter most foreign countries, all U.S. citizens, regardless of age, must have a passport issued in their own name.  All applicants, regardless of age, must apply for a passport in person.  Applicants under the age of 16 must be accompanied by both parents or legal guardians.  Minors who are over the age of 16 must appear in person with one parent or legal guardian to execute an application.  Please visit the U.S. Department of State’s website, www.travel.state.gov for a complete list of information. 

 

 

Items required to obtain a passport book or card:

 

  1. Passport Application, completed but not signed.Your signature requires certification and must be signed in the presence of an acceptance agent in our office.
  2. Original or certified copy of your birth certificate or original Naturalization Certificate.A photocopy of your citizenship document must also be submitted with the original.
  3. Driver’s license or current government issued photo ID with signature.If under the age of 16, both parents’ driver’s licenses are required.If 16-17, one parent’s driver’s license is required. A photocopy of your license, front and back, must be submitted.
  4. One passport photo.May be taken are CVS, Walgreens, AAA Auto Club or anywhere that takes passport photos.

  

                                                       

Processing times and fees:

           

 

Type of Passport

Regular Service 6-8 Weeks

Expedited Service

Adult Book

(age 16 and up)

$110.00

 

$185.45

Child Book

(under age 16)

$80.00

$155.45

Adult Card

(age 16 and up)

$30.00

$90.00

Child Card

(under age 16)

$15.00

$75.00

 

               

The fees in the above table are payable to the U.S. Department of State by check or money order.  Additionally, a $25.00 processing fee for each application is payable by cash, check or money order to the Delaware County Clerk of Courts.  Expedited service includes the $60.00 expedite fee and $15.45 for return mailing.

You must apply for your passport in person if:

           

  1. You are applying for a passport for the first time.
  2. Your most recent passport was issued more than 15 years ago.
  3. You were a minor when your last passport was issued.
  4. You have an existing passport that has been damaged or lost.

 

You may be eligible to apply for a renewal by mail if your most recent passport was issued within the past fifteen years and is in your possession.  If you have any questions about the application process or required documents, please give us a call at 740-833-2500 at the Courthouse in Delaware or 740-657-3945 in Lewis Center, or please visit www.travel.state.gov for details.

 

           

 

All forms are in Adobe PDF format. You will need Acrobat Reader on your PC to be able to view and print these files. If you do not have Acrobat Reader you can download it here.

Civil Classification Form
Domestic Relations Classification Form
Request for Transcript
Address Change Form
 

 

Civil Division

Affidavit, order and notice of garnishment and answer of garnishee for Personal Earnings and Wages
Affidavit, order and notice of garnishment of property other than personal earnings Authenticated Judgment (example)
Employer’s Guide to Processing Continuous Orders of Garnishment
Final Report & Answer of Garnishee
Forcible Entry And Detainer Summons And Notice Of Hearing
Instructions for Filing Foreign Judgment
Interim Report - Answer of Garnishee
Lien Release (Foreclosure Cases Only)
Motion, Affidavit and Order for Examination of Judgment Debtor
Notice Of Court Proceedings To Collect Debt
Notice of Filing a Foreign Judgment (Example)
Notice to Judgment Debtor for Personal Earnings
Notice to Judgment Debtor for Property other than Personal Earnings
Precipe for Certificate of Judgment (Complete Names and Addresses are    REQUIRED)
Subpoena for Civil (Original and three copies requested)
Writ of Execution

 

Criminal Division

Application to Seal Record (Convicted)
Application to Seal Record (Dismissed or Not Guilty)
Judgment Entry Granting Limited Driving Privileges
Motion for Limited Driving Privileges
Subpoena for Criminal (Original and three copies requested)

 

Domestic Relations

Continuance Entry Form
Child Support Calculator
Dissolution with Children Checklist
Dissolution without Children Checklist
Divorce with Children Checklist
Divorce without Children Checklist
Duty to Keep Court Advised of Address
Local Parenting Time Schedule
Modification of Parenting Time Checklist
Motion to Continue
Mutual Restraining Order
Notice of Intent to Relocate
Parentage - Allocation of Parental Rights Checklist
Parenting Supplemental Information
Party Supplemental Information
Relocation/Change of Address
Subpoena for Domestic (Original and three copies requested)
Uniform Domestic Relations Form - Affidavit 1 (Affidavit of Income and Expenses)
Uniform Domestic Relations Form - Affidavit 2 (Affidavit of Property)
Uniform Domestic Relations Form - Affidavit 3 (Parenting Proceeding Affidavit)
Uniform Domestic Relations Form - Affidavit 4 (Health Insurance Affidavit)
Uniform Domestic Relations Form - Affidavit 5 (Motion and Affidavit or Counter Affidavit for Temporary Orders Without Oral Hearing)
Uniform Domestic Relations Form 6 - (Complaint for Divorce Without Children)
Uniform Domestic Relations Form 7 - (Complaint for Divorce With Children)
Uniform Domestic Relations Form 8 - (Counterclaim for Divorce)
Uniform Domestic Relations Form 9 - (Answer to Complaint for Divorce Without Children)
Uniform Domestic Relations Form 10 - (Answer to Complaint for Divorce With Children)
Uniform Domestic Relations Form 11 - (Final Judgment for Divorce Without Children)
Uniform Domestic Relations Form 12 - (Final Judgment for Divorce With Children)
Uniform Domestic Relations Form 13 - (Judgment Entry Converting Interest in Real Estate)
Uniform Domestic Relations Form 14 - (Petition for Dissolution of Marriage and Waiver of Service of Summons)
Uniform Domestic Relations Form 15 - (Judgment Entry of Dissolution of Marriage)
Uniform Domestic Relations Form 16 - (Separation Agreement)
Uniform Domestic Relations Form 17 - (Shared Parenting Plan)
Uniform Domestic Relations Form 18 - (Parenting Plan)
Uniform Domestic Relations Form 19 - (Parenting Judgment Entry)
Uniform Domestic Relations Form 20 - (Complaint for Parentage, Allocation of Parental Rights and Responsibilities and Parenting Time)
Uniform Domestic Relations Form 21 - (Motion for Contempt and Affidavit)
Uniform Domestic Relations Form 22 - (Show Cause Order, Notice and Instructions to the Clerk)
Uniform Domestic Relations Form 23 - (Motion for Change of Parenting Time [Visitation] and Memorandum in Support)
Uniform Domestic Relations Form 24 - (Motion for Change of Parental Rights and Responsibilities [Custody] and Memorandum in Support)
Uniform Domestic Relations Form 25 - (Motion for Change of Child Support, Medical Support, Tax Exemption, or Other Child-Related Expenses and Memorandum in Support)
Uniform Domestic Relations Form 26 - (Explanation of Health Care Bills)
Uniform Domestic Relations Form 27 - (Waiver of Service of Summons)
Uniform Domestic Relations Form 28 - (Request for Service)

 

 

Fifth District Court of Appeals

Docketing Statement
J.E. Granting Delayed Appeal
Motion for Leave to File a Delayed Appeal
Notice of Appeal
Notice of Appearance/Change of Address
Notice of Waiver of Oral Argument
Proof of Service
Request to File Transcript

 

Title Division

Affidavit Change Of Motor Vehicle Title
Affidavit of Ownership - Watercraft
Affidavit of Ownership - ATV
Application for Title - Automobile
Application for Title - Watercraft
Minor Consent Form
Odometer Statement - Buyer Only
Odometer Statement - Purchaser/Seller
Power of Attorney - Automobile
Sales Tax Exemption Form
Sales Tax Exemption Form (Ohio nonresident)
Surviving Spouse Affidavit
Transfer on Death Affidavit
Transfer/Out of State Title with Lien
Watercraft Registration Application

 

NOTARY COMMISSIONS

In the State of Ohio, a Notary Public is a person appointed and commissioned by the Governor of the State to:

 

  • Administer oaths required or authorized by law
  • Take and certify depositions
  • Take and certify acknowledgements of deeds, mortgages, liens, Powers of Attorney and other written instruments
  • Receive, make and record notarial protests

 

To become a notary in Delaware County, you must be a resident of Delaware County.  If you do not live in Delaware County, please contact the Clerk of Courts office in the county where you reside.  Delaware County residents may either visit our office in person at 110 North Sandusky Street, Level 300, Delaware, Ohio 43015 or mail a request for a notary packet.  The cost for a notary packet is $20.00 ($29.00 if it is mailed).  The notary test is offered once a month, on the second Wednesday of the month, here in the Delaware County Courthouse.  

 

If you are a licensed attorney in the State of Ohio and are interested in becoming a Notary Public, please contact our office for further assistance at 740-833-2500.

 

The Clerk of Courts is responsible for recording notary commissions and keeping them on file.  The cost to file a notary’s commission is $5.00 plus $1.00 to administer the oath.  Your notary commission must be recorded in the county where you reside. 

 

If you have a document that has been notarized by a Notary Public who is commissioned in Delaware County and you need the notary’s commission certified, you may visit the Delaware County Clerk of Courts office for a notary certification.  The fee is $2.00.   We are located at 110 North Sandusky Street, Level 300, Delaware, Ohio 43015. 

 

If you have any other further questions, you may contact our office or visit the Ohio Secretary of State’s website at www.sos.state.oh.us for more information.